William D. Provine, Ph.D.

President and Chief Executive Officer | Delaware Innovation Space

Dr. William D. Provine is a founder and currently serves as the first President and Chief Executive Officer for the Delaware Innovation Space in addition to an ex-officio member of its Board of Directors.   In this role, Bill oversees all operations of the company and is responsible for its overall performance.  Prior to joining the Delaware Innovation Space, Bill worked for DuPont where he led global operations for science and engineering encompassing DuPont’s open innovation practice that included oversight for DuPont’s innovation centers and regional laboratories around the world.   He also has served in a variety of research, marketing, business development, joint venture, and manufacturing leadership roles in DuPont. He is very active in cultivating and advancing science across sectors and serves on numerous university, government, and scientific association advisory boards.

Timothy Mueller, Ph.D.

Vice President of Science & Technology and Director of the Research Institute | Delaware Innovation Space

Dr. Timothy Mueller currently serves as Vice President of Science & Technology where he provides mentoring and technical support to entrepreneurs as well as leading the Research Institute as its first Director. Timothy is a classically trained chemist with 30 years of experience in an array of academic and industrial research positions coupled with strategic product and business development.  Prior to joining Delaware Innovation Space, Tim was the North American Research Leader for DuPont Science & Engineering Global Operations.  Prior to that role, Tim managed the Inorganic and Nanotechnology groups within Central Research & Development, and he has led photo voltaic and energy storage materials development projects and oversaw new product innovation methodology.  Prior to joining DuPont, Timothy was President and CEO of several start-up companies.

Board of Directors

Jon D. Kemp

Vice President Corporate Strategy and Planning | Specialty Products Division | DowDuPont

Jon leads strategy development, mergers and acquisitions, planning, portfolio management, integration, and capital allocation for the $21B Specialty Products division of DowDuPont. The new Specialty Products division offers highly-differentiated products and solutions that transform industries and everyday life. Previously, Jon served as President of DuPont Electronics & Communications.

Charles Riordan, Ph.D.

Chair, Board of Directors | Delaware Innovation Space
Vice President of Research, Scholarship, and Innovation | University of Delaware

Dr. Riordan is responsible for advancing the University of Delaware’s research enterprise, including oversight of six University-wide research institutes. He is an inorganic-organometallic chemist whose research is supported by the National Science Foundation.

Alexa Dembek, Ph.D.

Secretary, Board of Directors | Delaware Innovation Space
Chief Technology and Sustainability Officer, Specialty Products | DowDuPont

Dr. Dembek joined DuPont in 1991 as a research chemist and currently leads DowDuPont Science & Innovation, and will be the Chief Technology and Sustainability Officer for the Specialty Products Division. Over her career, Alexa has held a diverse set of roles that have included global business leadership and a broad range of end-to-end innovation experiences.

Jeff Bullock

Treasurer, Board of Directors | Delaware Innovation Space
Secretary of State | State of Delaware

Jeffrey W. Bullock was sworn in as Delaware’s 80th Secretary of State on January 21, 2009 and re-confirmed by the Delaware Senate on January 18, 2017. As Secretary of the most diverse department in state government overseeing nearly twenty different agencies.

Dennis Assanis, Ph.D.

President | University of Delaware

Dr. Assanis is the 28th President of the University of Delaware. He was elected to the position by the UD Board of Trustees and took office in June, 2016. Dr. Assanis is a distinguished educator, academic leader, scholar and expert in internal combustion engines and energy systems.

Doug Gramiak

Chief of Staff to Governor John Carney | State of Delaware

Doug Gramiak serves as the gubernatorial Chief of Staff for Governor John Carney. Mr. Gramiak is a former executive director of Education Voters of Delaware, a non-profit advocacy group created to build community support for public education. He previously worked at Young Conaway Public Strategies LLC.